Beware the so-called Official Site for Mauritius!
Do a google search of "official mauritius tourist office" and you'll get mauritius.net at the top and it claims to be the "The Official Site for Mauritius" which even lists the addresses of the Mauritian tourist offices throughout the world. I bet it fooled you into believing that this is the official government-owned tourist web site for Mauritius. Well you are not alone as even the venerable Lonely Planet lists this web site as the official tourist web site on its Travel Links page for Mauritius.
Well, mauritius.net is just pretending to be the official site while it is privately owned and makes money by selling you flight and hotel packages to the island. For some reason the Mauritian government is unable or unwilling to stop this abuse despite the outrage felt by the Mauritian tourism minister in a local newspaper.
So, please don't be fooled. If you need the official tourist web site pick the second web site listed in the google search results:
http://www.tourism-mauritius.mu/
Well, mauritius.net is just pretending to be the official site while it is privately owned and makes money by selling you flight and hotel packages to the island. For some reason the Mauritian government is unable or unwilling to stop this abuse despite the outrage felt by the Mauritian tourism minister in a local newspaper.
So, please don't be fooled. If you need the official tourist web site pick the second web site listed in the google search results:
http://www.tourism-mauritius.mu/

